This guide identifies sources available for discovering your family history. It includes websites, indexes, and printed materials.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2015
The new FamilySearch website has many new features to more easily learn about your ancestors and their families.
The following resources are available online in electronic format. To view more information about the website, click on the next to the link title.
Free family history, family tree, and genealogy records and resources from around the world. It also allows for the sharing of stories and photographs of your ancestors.
- FamilySearch Research Wiki
This wiki resource contains approximately 40,000 articles which focus on family history research. It provides "information on how to find, use, and analyze records of genealogical value."
- Mormon Pioneer Overland Travel Database
This database indexes some of the rosters and other records of pioneers who traveled overland to Utah between 1847-1868 and the companies to which they were assigned. It also includes a bibliography of sources – journal entries, letters, life sketches, newspaper clippings, etc. - to cite each account.
- Mormons and Their Neighbors
This is an index of more than 100,000 life sketches published in 236 local and regional history books relating to Utah, New Mexico, Arizona, Colorado, southern California, Nevada, Idaho, Wyoming, northern Mexico, and southwestern Canada. This website is hosted by Brigham Young University.
- Mormon Migration Website
The Mormon Migration website is devoted to the gathering, distribution and interpretation of global migration records and history related to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, more commonly known as the LDS Church or the Mormon Church. This website is hosted by Brigham Young University.
- Welsh Mormon History
This site seeks to preserve and share information about the early converts to Mormonism in Wales. Its main focus is on those individuals who were involved in the Mormon movement in 19th century Wales. This website is hosted by Brigham Young University.
- Family Genealogy and History Internet Education Directory - Wiki
Professional, worldwide humanities and social sciences mega portal, connected directly to numerously related sub-sets having billions of primary and secondary database resources; information that provides family history and genealogy records.